XIth edition of the Worldwide Hospitality Awards - Hospitality excellence recognised in Paris

4 min reading time

Published on 17/11/10 - Updated on 17/03/22

A crowd of 1000 plus industry leaders came together to celebrate and recognise achievements in the hospitality industry. Among the award participants were 200 hotel brands from 27 countries.

InterContinental Hotel Group (IHG) was awarded the Jury Grand Prix at this year’s Worldwide Hospitality Awards in Paris. Overall, the event paid tribute to hotelier achievement, especially triumphant during one of the most difficult periods for the industry. The ceremony was also joined by newly elected French Minister of Tourism Frédéric Lefebvre who addressed the audience with his plans and strategy, stating that just because tourism in France is already working much better than other industries it should not receive any less investment from the government.For any further information, please contact us : +33 (0)1 56 56 87 95 or by email :“The 2010 and 11th Worldwide Hospitality Awards was a fantastic night. The mood and feeling was very positive, as hoteliers continue to perform well. On behalf of MKG Group I would like to congratulate all winners and finalists, and thank everyone for attending and supporting the industry, especially to new tourism minister Mr Lefebvre, ceremony chairman, Carlson Group President Hubert Joly and advisory board chairman, Louvre Hotels /Golden Tulip Hospitality President Pierre Frédéric Roulot. Once again the event was held at Le-Grand Paris, an amazing venue and only fitting for recognising hospitality excellence” stated event founder, MKG Group President and CEO, Georges Panayotis.Over 1000 people from around the world gathered at the InterContinental Paris Le-Grand’s Opera Garnier to congratulate the winners. Among the award participants were 200 hotel brands from 27 countries , including the world’s leading operators and groups. “Throughout the year there are many conferences and awards related to the hospitality and hotel industry, but this evening’s Worldwide Hospitality Awards is surely the best of its kindChairman of the ceremony, President & CEO of Carlson Group, Hubert Joly said in his address to the audience.This year’s Lifetime Achievement was presented to Gerald Lawless, Executive Chairman, Jumeirah Group. “It’s fantastic to be recognised here in Paris at the Worldwide Hospitality Awards. This award is truly representative of the hard work and dedication of the entire team I work with at Jumeirah.” said Lawless, dedicating the award to his many inspirations, including his wife, current employer Jumeirah Group and His Highness Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, as well as former employer Rocco Forte.Finalist in 4 categories, the Accor Group took two awards : Best Advertising Campaign & Best Human Resources Management Program. Meanwhile Hyatt received three awards, Innovative concept in the full service category, best GM and best young graduates integration program.Winners and finalists at the Worldwide Hospitality Awards 2010:- Lifetime Achievement -* WINNER : Gerald Lawless, Executive Chairman, Jumeirah Group- Jury Grand Prix -* WINNER : InterContinental Hotel Group -* Finalists: -** Louvre Hotels / Golden Tulip Hospitality -** NH Hoteles- Best Advertising Campaign -* Winner : Ibis -* Finalists: -** All Seasons -** Kyriad- Best Marketing / e-Commerce operation -* WINNER : Royal Riviera -* Finalists: -** Dolce Hotels and Resorts -** The Rezidor Hotel Group - Best Initiative in Sustainable Development -* WINNER : B&B -* Finalists: -** Accor Hospitality -** Pierre & Vacances / Center Parcs- Best Human Resources Management Program -* WINNER : Novotel -* Finalists: -** InterContinental Hotel Group -** Shangri-La- Best Clients’ experience program -* WINNER : Swissotel -* Finalists: -** Hi Park Résidences -** The Pavilions Phuket- Best Innovative concept in the limited service category -* WINNER : Campanile -* Finalists: -** Freestyle - Milan -** Onomo - Dakar- Best Innovative concept in the full service category -* WINNER : Andaz Hyatt -* Finalists: -** Hotel Missoni -** So Spa Sofitel- Best hotel novelty of the year -* WINNER : W Barcelona -* Finalists: -** Le Gray Beirut -** Pantone Hotel Brussels- Best General Manager -* WINNER : Michel Jauslin, General Manager Park Hyatt Paris Vendôme -* Finalists: -** Geraldine Dobey - General Manager, Hilton Arc de Triomphe -** Frédéric Picard - General Manager, Mazagan Resort MoroccoWinners and finalists at the Worldwide Hospitality Management Schools Awards 2010:- Best Hospitality management school communication -* Winner : Blue Mountains International Hotel School Australia -* Finalists: -** Escola de hotelaria e turismo de lisboa -** Vatel Group- Best Hospitality management school educational innovation -* Winner : Vatel Bordeaux -* Finalists: -** Blue Mountains International School Australia -** Glion Institute of Higher Education- Best professional success -* Winner : Guillaume Verchere, Regional Financial Controller Benelux - The Rezidor Hotel Group / Vatel Lyon -* Finalists: -** Elsa Biscaut, General Director Hidden Hotel / Les Roches, International school of hotel management, Switzerland -** Jan Kroeckel, Operations Manager, Novotel Phan Thiet Ocean Dunes & Golf / Vatel Bangkok-# Best young graduates integration program -* Winner : Hyatt Hotels & Resorts -* Finalists: -** Accor Hospitality -** Louvre Hotels / Golden Tulip HospitalityEvent Official Partners: Accor Hospitality, Atout France, Baccarat, Evian/Danone Water, Equip'Hotel Paris, Hôtel Fouquet's Barrière, France 24, HTR Magazine, Hyatt Hotels and Resorts, INEO GDF Suez, InterContinental Le Grand Hôtel, Karcher, Lido Paris, Louvre Hotels/Golden Tulip Hospitality, MKG Group, Palmes d'Or/Nicolas Feuillatte, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Samsung, Sealy, Soft Audiovisuel, TV5MONDE, Vatel Group.

For further

Every week, the HON team brings you an expert look at the world of hospitality. By becoming a member, you will have access to a complete ecosystem: exclusive content, jobs, etc.


Sign up to add topics in favorite. Sign up to add categories in favorite. Sign up to add content in favorite. Register for free to vote for the application.

Already signed up? Already signed up? Already signed up? Already registered?