Spain extends the entry restrictions until the end of the year

1 min reading time

Published on 03/12/20 - Updated on 17/03/22

Covid 19

The Spanish authorities extended the temporary closure of the Schengen area until December 31 to prevent the further spread of Covid-19.

According to the latest announcement from the Spanish government, nationals of the following countries are allowed to enter the schengen area: Australia, Rwanda, Japan, New Zealand, South Korea, Singapore, Uruguay and Thailand.

With respect to Chinese residents, including the Special Administrative Regions of Macao and Hong Kong, it is up to their authorities to apply reciprocal measures.

Spain's previous amendment specified that Tunisia, Canada and Georgia were excluded from the list of authorized countries.

The Spanish Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Ministry of Health announced that since November 23, the COVID-19 test procedure has been mandatory for all internationals wishing to enter the country from territories considered to be seriously affected by the spread of the virus.

According to the statement issued by the two ministries, people trying to enter into Spain from high-risk countries will have to present negative results of a Coronavirus test, otherwise they will be denied entry upon arrival.

For further

Every week, the HON team brings you an expert look at the world of hospitality. By becoming a member, you will have access to a complete ecosystem: exclusive content, jobs, etc.


Sign up to add topics in favorite. Sign up to add categories in favorite. Sign up to add content in favorite. Register for free to vote for the application.

Already signed up? Already signed up? Already signed up? Already registered?